Go!

What We Do When We Have Faith

 

Genesis 12:1: Then the Lord told Abram, “Leave your country, your relatives, and your father’s house, and go to the land I will show you.”

 

Imagine this. One day God says to you, “Go up to your class in school. Stand on your desk and tell the kids the gospel. Don’t be afraid. I will be with you.”

Wouldn’t that be incredible? “Well,” you say, “I’d probably be scared out of my wits. And everyone would think I’m totally weird.”

 

But what if God himself told you to do this?

 

It has happened before in history. One of the first great examples comes from Abraham. One day God told him to leave his country and go to a land God promised to show him. The Bible shows us that Abraham obeyed, and he became the father of the Jews.

 

There will always be times in our lives when God asks us to do things that make us fearful. “I want you to be a missionary.” Or, “Go to the school bully and tell him about me.” Or, “Invite your weird neighbor over for lunch.”

 

It could happen to you today. Be listening. God is there, and he wants to use you to change his world.

 

Prayer: Jesus, help me to listen for your voice. I want to follow you. Amen.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

