Out of Money

Out of Money

 

what can I do now

the money is gone

the accounts are empty

I have some gold

some silver in the

safe deposit box

it will not last long

I can’t get a job

I’ve applied everywhere

the recession remains

the market is empty

we eat we drink we sleep

but how long can it last

if I can’t pay the mortgage

if I can’t pay for groceries

if we really come to bottom

dead bottom

nowhere to look to but up

where will You and I be

when we reach that passageway

my parents are gone

the inheritance is spent
no one to go to

am I one of those who must

go to the church and beg

for a few cans of food

please I need You to say something

give me some assurance

give me something strong

and hard

and sure

to hold onto

yet I feel You say nothing

why are You so often silent

why do You look at us

know all we do

all we say

and You remain unmoved

seemingly uncaring

like David said

how long O Lord

will You forget me forever

You are love

it says in 1 John

twice

where is it in my days

where can I grasp it

my children look up to me

I’m hungry Daddy

I need some new clothes Daddy

I love you Daddy

but I hurt so bad

we have never been in this place

no money at all

I feel broken and forsaken

and deserted

all those things

You said you would never

forsake or desert me

You would never

do the things the world does

to the lost

You would never do to me your child

or any of Your children

the things I have seen

families taken to the end

believers murdered in Iran

and North Korea

I know

I know You say You are with us

to the end

but the world teems with

broken forsaken hurting Christians

what am I to do then

after the last check is written

the last dime cast to the cashier

the last hope dying

before my eyes

I’m sorry to complain

I don’t do it much

but sometimes I just

have to blurt it out

this is serious

where are You God

where the heck are You

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

