When You Love Someone

When You Love Someone

 

Genesis 45:3: “I am Joseph!” he said to his brothers, “Is my father still alive?”

 

“Can I see that knife?” Jason asked from the group of four college guys who stood in Gabriel’s dad’s garage.

 

The knife thudded onto to the ground and Gabriel stared in horror. That knife had once belonged to Jason, but Gabriel’s father kept it in the garage now. Gabriel had stolen it from Jason years before when they were kids.

 

Jason picked up the knife and gazed at it. Gabriel’s mind whizzed through several strategies, but suddenly he knew only one was right in God’s eyes: tell the truth.

 

He said, “Do you recognize that knife?”

 

Jason nodded. “I think.”

“I stole it from you,” Gabriel said. “I’m sorry. Will you forgive me?”

 

Jason looked up. “Uh, sure,” he said. “But …”

“You can have it back,” Gabriel said. “I shouldn’t have done that. But I’m a Christian now.”

 

Jason shook his head. “You amaze me, Gabe.”

           

Gabriel smiled. “I’m just trying to do what’s right.”

When you sin against a friend, how do you make it up? By admitting your wrong and offering to make it right. It’s that simple. In the above passage, that’s what Joseph did with his brothers. It’s a great example to follow.

 

Prayer: Jesus, help me to be forgiving, always. Amen.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

