God Is a Rock

God Is A Rock

 

2 Samuel 22:2-3: The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the strength of my salvation, and my stronghold, my high tower, my savior, the one who saves me from violence.

 

Have you ever come upon a huge rock – in the forest, by a lake, or in your back yard? How do you feel when you stand on that rock? Doesn’t it give you a feeling of solidity – like no one could knock you off?

 

The Bible calls God our rock because like a rock, we feel strong when we stand on him. A rock seems powerful, centered, unmovable. No matter how much blasting and hitting someone might do, that rock won’t budge.

 

God is our rock. When we stand on him, we find stability, security, strength. He won’t move. He’s powerful, and like a rock, no one could overcome him.

 

God is your rock in three ways:

 

1. He provides stability and strength. You won’t be defeated or overwhelmed when you’re standing on him.

 

2. He shelters you in the storm. Ever sit under a ledge of rock in a rainstorm? It’s comfortable, dry, safe. God is like that. He gives us safety in the storm.

 

3. He cannot be moved by others. Real rocks can be dislodged or broken up. But not God. He’s a rock the size of the universe.

 

Stand on the rock today. Feel its power. Feel its safety. You can be sure no one will be able to knock you off this rock!

 

Prayer: Father, you are my rock and I will stand on you forever. Amen.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

