Giving Should Cost Something

Giving Should Cost Something

1 Chronicles 21:24: But the king replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying what it is worth. I cannot take what is yours and give it to the LORD. I will not offer a burnt offering that has cost me nothing!”

There’s an old story about a twenty dollar bill and a one-dollar bill talking about their adventures. The twenty tells the one, “I’ve been to Paris, France, to New York City, all over the Midwest. I’ve been to carnivals and great plays and I’ve even been used to buy a giant-screen television. You should see what I’ve seen.”

The one responded, “I wish I was like you. For me, it’s always the same: go to church. Go to church. Go to church.”

That’s funny, but it makes an important point. Many Christians find it easy to put a dollar in the offering plate. What’s a dollar? A large candy bar? A hamburger? A box of pens? A Hot Wheels car? We don’t really worry too much about giving a dollar. It’s nothing.

When King David was confronted with a similar situation, he knew what to do. He wanted to make a sacrifice to God. Araunah, a man of faith, offered to give him everything he needed. But David refused to take it for free. He would not sacrifice to God something that cost him nothing.

When you give to the work of God, it should cost you something. It should be a bit of a sacrifice. When we give like that, God is pleased.

Prayer: Lord, help me always to give so that it costs me something. Amen.

TO BE CONTINUED:

The writing in this blog is available as a book on Amazon.com under Mark Littleton, Through the Bible Devotions, at http://www.amazon.com/Through-Bible-Devotions-Genesis-Revelation/dp/0784714746/ref=sr_1_38?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1406490323&sr=1-38&keywords=mark+littleton

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment